Pure Vanilla Extract VS Vanilla Bean Paste

Hello everybody! The past few weeks I have been experimenting with some recipes and I started to notice that most of the recipes call for pure vanilla extract, but I really enjoy the flavor the vanilla bean paste gives. I had to make choices on where to add the paste because it can be pricey.

So I decided I want to share with you guys the things that I discovered on my research to see the differences between the two of them and when is the right moment to use each one.

I hope you guys enjoy this post,

Isa.

Pure vanilla extract:

Many people rely on vanilla extract because it is a much cheaper alternative than the pure vanilla beans or even the paste. Personally I’ve been experimenting with both of them for a while now and vanilla extract is perfect for simple recipes such as chocolate chip cookies or whenever a recipe calls for a very small amount of it.

My personal favorite is either the McCormick Pure Vanilla Extract or the Nielsen-Massey Vanilla Extract. They are both very affordable for the amount you get.

 

Vanilla Bean Paste:

I discovered vanilla bean paste existed throughout a YouTuber and I’ve been obsessed ever since. I had to beg my mom to get it for me since I could’t find it in Guatemala. The very first recipe I tried with this was a Vanilla and Nutella Semifreddo and it definitely makes a difference.

This can be used whenever you are doing something where vanilla is the falvor that stands out. Like semifreddo, ice cream or gelato, vanilla cookies, vanilla cake or any kind of filling.

My all time favorite one is Nielsen-Massey Vanilla Bean Paste. It smells amazing and I have this weird habit of tasting every vanilla extract or paste by themselves. Trust me it is not a good idea, but with the vanilla bean paste it had a really good flavor by itself so in my opinion that is a really good sign.

I really like this alternative whenever you can’t find good quality vanilla beans and it is much cheaper. It will taste and look the same.

img_9723-1

img_9720-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

